1. Home
  2. Sheets
  3. Journalists/Communications Professionals Doing Pro Bono Work

Journalists/Communications Professionals Doing Pro Bono Work

This sheet is for anyone in the Communications/Media industries willing to do pro bono work to help out other industry folk. If you're not a journalist, please specify what you do so there's no confusion.This is strictly career-adjacent work, not a way to advertise services for nonprofits. - Sourceful

journalism, pro bono, jobs, contacts

This sheet is for anyone in the Communications/Media industries willing to do pro bono work to help out other industry folk. If you're not a journalist, please specify what you do so there's no confusion. This is strictly career-adjacent work, not a way to advertise services for nonprofits. Any questions about this form: please get in touch via DMs @weischoice Upvote this document on Sourceful

Name Pronouns Preferred Contact Method Website Willing to Help With Don't Ask Me About Currently Available (Y/N) Additional Info Instructions re: follow ups

Sonia Weiser She/Her [email protected] or DM @weischoice soniaweiser.wordpress.com resumes, portfolio critique, general advice, practice interviews where to send pitches, if I can edit your pitch, how I run my newsletter, personal editor contacts Not but will return shortly I promise I'll get to it. No need to nudge

Fiza Pirani She/Her [email protected] fizapirani.net resume/portfolio critique, general advice, "minority" (hate that term) experience in journalism, experience with immigrant parents and journalism/creative careers editing services, newsletter management, any commissioned services offered on website (girl gotta eat!) Yes Priority to marginalized workers, new professionals, anyone affected financially by covid-19. But will likely be able to assist anyone at all. Feel free to nudge if I don't respond after a week, though Gmail tends to do the nudging, too!

Gabriel Greschler He him [email protected] or DM @ggreschler ggreschler.com Making the jump from student journalist->professional journalist, general advice where to send pitches, if I can edit your pitch, how I run my newsletter Yes

Elly Belle she/they [email protected] ellywrites.com resume/portfolio critique, general advice, pitch critique any commissioned services, I'm freelance and need to make money! Yes priority goes to marginalized people from lower economic backgrounds, queer and trans people, people of color, black people, anyone who has a harder time getting their foot in the industry doors

Somdyuti Datta Ray she/her [email protected] / @hellodyuti somdyuti.contently.com resume/portfolio/pitch critique editing pitches/services Yes especially happy to help BIPOC individuals

Tim Herrera he/him @timherrera https://mailchi.mp/1a0d93c9a69e/howtopitch Pitching advice Individual pitch reviews Yes If you entered your email in the form, I've got it!

Joseph Hernandez he/him [email protected] / @joeybear85 heytherejoeybear.com resume/portfolio critique, early career advice, pitch advice Custom pitch reviews, direct contacts, assignments, editing individual pitches Yes priority goes to marginalized people from lower economic backgrounds, queer, BIPOC individuals, early career journalists/writers having a hard time breaking in Please don't follow-up within 48 hours of initial query.

Anjulie Rao she/her [email protected] / @anjulierao anjulierao.info website/public-facing collateral crit / topic dicscussions around writing about architecture/design editing specific pieces/pitches yes Love to hear from people interested in writing about architecture/design! Women/BIPOC please reach out! Please bug me if I don't follow up within five days

Erik Sherman If you spell my name correctly, we're fine [email protected] eriksherman.com contract review yes You must have read the contract yourself and developed questions Give me a few days

Melissa Lewis she/her mlewis at revealnews.org / @iff_or https://www.revealnews.org/author/melissa-lewis/ data analysis and visualization, database systems, records requests, Python programming, Git and GitHub pitching Yes Priority is folks at local or non-profit newsrooms, freelancers from underrrepresented backgrounds in journalism

Britany Robinson she/her [email protected] / @britseeingstars britanyrobinson.com pitch advice/feedback Yes

Paris Martineau she/her DM @parismartineau parismartineau.com pitching advice, reporting questions, early career advice, questions about tech journalism editing specific pitches\pieces, direct contacts, yes give me a few days. if i don't get back to you in a week, bug me again

Taylor Moore she/her [email protected] / @taylormundo taylorgmoore.co pitch advice/feedback for early-career journalists, freelancing advice, questions about Chicago media Yes freelancers and students, people transitioning from a different industry, women, POC, LGTBQ+

Iliana Limón Romero she/her [email protected] www.orlandosentinel.com/sports Résumé critique, portfolio review, career advice, interview guidance. Sports editor at the Orlando Sentinel, but I also have news experience. Unfortunately, I have no job openings and my freelance budget is frozen. I will answer questions about anything but want you to know that up front Yes, but have limited openings weekly due to other commitments I love it when you come with questions and any phone contact we have will be 30 minutes or less, so be prepared Please do follow up if you have not heard from me within a week

Jackie Mansky she/her [email protected] or DM @jasmansky pitching advice for history-specific websites, editing history-specific essays, early-career advice Yes

Mark Yarm he/him [email protected] / @markyarm inputmag.com Career advice for writers and editors, pitching advice Input's freelance budget is currently frozen, so unfortunately I can't field any of your pitches at the moment. Yes

Abby Lee Hood she/they [email protected] / @abbyleehood www.abbyleehood.com A free copy of "Pitches that worked," compilation of pitches landed in MTV, Teen Vogue, and more Editor contact information, jobs, etc. I am but a humble freelancer. Yes Click here to get that free PDF with pitches that worked; these totaled more than $1,700 income for me: https://mailchi.mp/3e24488a294c/pitchesthatworkedv1

Anna Dimond she/her [email protected] https://www.annadimond.com/ feedback on/honing pitches,