1. Home
  2. Sheets
  3. Interdisciplinary Remote & Remote-Friendly Employers (by Words of Mouth)

Interdisciplinary Remote & Remote-Friendly Employers (by Words of Mouth)

Send suggestions to [email protected] / subscribe at wordsofmouth.org - Sourceful

freelance

Name Website Discipline(s) *a note about this list*

Creative Commons https://creativecommons.org/ Non-profit, knowledge

Wikimedia Foundation https://wikimediafoundation.org/ Non-profit, knowledge

OpenNews https://opennews.org/ Nonprofit, journalism

News Literacy Project https://newslit.org/ Non-profit, education

Participatory Culture Foundation https://pculture.org/ Nonprofit, knowledge

Open Law Library http://www.openlawlib.org/ Tech, knowledge

CrossRef https://www.crossref.org/ Academia, research, knowledge

Hypothesis https://web.hypothes.is/ Nonprofit, tech, research

ORCID https://orcid.org/ Research, knowledge

Educopia https://educopia.org/ Education, libraries, nonprofit

The Carpentries https://carpentries.org/ Libraries, tech, education

P2PU p2pu.org/en/ Education, libraries

Digital Public Library of America https://dp.la/ Nonprofit, libraries

Research Square https://www.researchsquare.com/ Research, academia

Ad Hoc https://adhocteam.us Government digital services

Skylight https://skylight.digital/ Civic tech

Countable https://www.countable.us/ Civic tech

Truss https://truss.works/ Government digital services

DuckDuckGo https://duckduckgo.com/ Privacy, search

Simply Accessible https://simplyaccessible.com/ Accessibility, tech

Happy Cog https://www.happycog.com/ Digital, design

MoveOn https://front.moveon.org/ Policy, advocacy

CivicActions https://civicactions.com/ Government digital services

Nava https://www.navapbc.com/ Government digital services

Swing Left https://swingleft.org/ Politics

Reboot https://reboot.org/ Social impact design, consulting

Vera Institute of Justice https://www.vera.org/ Policy/Advocacy

National Domestic Workers Alliance https://www.domesticworkers.org/ Policy/Advocacy

ACLU https://www.aclu.org Policy/Advocacy

The Justice Collaborative https://thejusticecollaborative.com/ Policy/Advocacy

If/When/How https://www.ifwhenhow.org/ Policy/Advocacy

Farmers Market Coalition https://farmersmarketcoalition.org/ Non-profit

Good Food Institute https://www.gfi.org/ Food, research

Climate Advocacy Lab https://climateadvocacylab.org/ Advocacy, climate

Kahn Academy https://www.khanacademy.org Education, tech

Trilogy/2U https://2u.com/ Education, tech

iDesign http://idesignedu.org/ Education

Acumen https://acumen.org/ Education, social impact

Forward Together https://forwardtogether.org/ Non-profit

InVision https://www.invisionapp.com/ Design, tech, collaboration

Automattic https://automattic.com/ Web services

Basecamp https://basecamp.com/ Collaboration, productivity tools

Clubhouse https://clubhouse.io/ Collaboration, productivity tools

Ghost https://ghost.org/ Publishing

Public Lab https://publiclab.org Environment

Environmental Defense Fund https://www.edf.org/ Environment

Conservify/Fieldkit.org http://conservify.org/ Environment, tech

FutureFuel https://futurefuel.io/ Financial Services

Flatiron Health https://flatiron.com/ Healthcare, tech

Oak https://oak.is/hiring/ Software, design

Reveal https://www.revealnews.org/ Journalism/investigative reporting

GitLab https://about.gitlab.com/ Software, open source

Github https://github.com/about/careers Software, open source

RStudio https://rstudio.com/ Software, open source

Pop-Up Magazine https://www.popupmagazine.com Publishing

Vox Media https://www.voxmedia.com/ Media

Thorn https://www.thorn.org/ Non-profit, tech

Every.org https://www.every.org/ Non-profit, tech

She Should Run https://www.sheshouldrun.org/ Nonprofit, politics

Amara https://amara.org/en/recruitment/ Transcription

Theorem https://theorem.co/ Design, digital services

Lesbians Who Tech + Allies https://lesbianswhotech.org/ Tech, advocacy

Mozilla https://www.mozilla.org/ Tech, nonprofit

World Writers http://www.worldwriters.com/ Translation

Flocabulary https://www.flocabulary.com/ Education, tech

&Partners https://jobs.lever.co/andpartners Government digital services

Wired Impact https://wiredimpact.com/ Design, digital services

Vote.org https://www.vote.org/ Civic tech

Wonder https://askwonder.com/ Research

Access Now https://www.accessnow.org/ Policy/Advocacy, digital rights

GetThru https://www.getthru.io/ Civic tech

Bandcamp https://bandcamp.com/ Music, internet

Coffective https://coffective.com/ Public health

Doist https://doist.com/ Collaboration, productivity tools

Kiva https://www.kiva.org/ Non-profit, social impact

The Engine Room https://www.theengineroom.org/ Social impact, tech

Internet Archive https://archive.org/index.php Non-profit, knowledge

Amplify https://amplify.com/ Education

Day Translations https://www.daytranslations.com/ Translation

Balestra Media https://www.balestramedia.com/ Communications, policy

Avaaz https://secure.avaaz.org/page/en/ Policy/Advocacy

Treehouse https://teamtreehouse.com Education, tech

Osmosis https://www.osmosis.org/ Education, health

Four Kitchens https://www.fourkitchens.com/ Design, digital services

SuperHi https://www.superhi.com Education, tech, design

Internet Society https://www.internetsociety.org/ Nonprofit, knowledge

Snopes https://www.snopes.com/ Publishing, media

Libro.fm https://libro.fm/ Books, tech

Playbyte https://www.playbyte.io/ Games, tech

The Appeal https://theappeal.org/ Publishing, news

Open Knowledge Foundation https://okfn.org/ Non-profit, knowledge

Send suggestions to [email protected] / subscribe at wordsofmouth.org

Info
Tags freelance
Type Google Sheet
Published 16/03/2020, 12:17:51

Resources

The Freelancer Rate Calculator
Companies Hiring During Corona Crisis (http://bit.ly/stillhiringcorona)
Survival Guide for WFH Parents with kids at home too (open source)
The Big Artist Opportunities List
275+ Enrichment Activities for Children While Parents are Working Remotely
Services for freelancers
Freelance Reporting Resources
900+ Startups hiring Remotely in 2020 - by Remotive.io